To Write or Not to Write: An Author’s Decision

When I decided to make writing books my new career, I researched the industry at great lengths before deciding on romantic suspense. At that time, most authors who had seven books published were making enough money to quit their day job.

Not the case today.

On March 16th, I published book number 10, but I don’t feel like I have made it yet. It seems like every year that magical number needed for success slides a little further away.Current books as of 23 March

Several recent Facebook posts from authors have indicated their desire to quit and return to a paid position with benefits. After checking, most have published under five books. As with any career, being an author may not be the right career for them. I believe it is the right career for me.

In a professional writing workshop, the instructor told us that successful authors have one thing in common…Perseverance. I can’t tell you how many times I have been told horror stories by highly successful authors who have stacks of rejection letters. Yet, they believed in their talent and the stories they had to tell. They persisted until the right match was made. The melding of author, story, editor, and publisher made them a success.

Another Facebook complaint I’ve seen made by authors has been the decrease in profits. Currently there are nearly 3.3 million fiction books available. Of those, 825,000 are in the romance genre. That’s a lot of competition especially when you add 20,000 new titles every month. Those numbers can be disenchanting and downright frightening. The manuscript you labored over for months can easily get lost.

As many authors completed their taxes last week, I believe the reality of time, effort, and diminishing returns has made them question whether writing the next novel is a wise use of their time.

For me, the increase in sales over the previous year was incentive. My business plan for 2017 includes at least one more novella and two more full-length novels. I’ll be writing nonstop…forever.

If you’d like to see the cover reveals first, here about my work in progress, and be notified when I have special sales and upcoming releases, please CLICK HERE to join my newsletter now. I have a secret surprise for all newsletter recipients in May.

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in KaLyn Cooper and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.