Making Wedding Plans

29_wedding-rings-wallpaper1

Still time to join the fun and you might win a “Wedding Gift”!

For the past month over 125 people have participated in Planning the Wedding of Jack and Jillian Girard, the characters from Christmas in Cancun who will be married in my next book Captivated in Cancun. Now that we are in the final week, I thought I’d share with the world their decisions so far and once again congratulate the weekly winners of “Wedding Gifts”.

beach wedding

Kenderly Wood’s picture of a wedding on the beach inspired many to vote for a beach wedding.

poolside

I loved the idea of a beach wedding but the practicality of an elegant poolside reception. Annette Drolet Mardis posted this suggestion and I evoked author prerogative.

By an overwhelming majority, the beach was selected over the pool as the site for the two to vow their everlasting love for one another. But I decided that the quad around the pool will be where the reception takes place. Anyone who has ever spent an evening on the beach knows that the ocean breeze kicks in when the sun goes down and can be blustery. Not conducive for a nice meal. Who wants sand in their food? Not me!

nice bodice detail long appeared 2x

When both Anna Martin Josey and Therese Scacchi Lopez posted the same picture of this wedding gown, I knew it would be a fan favorite.

Nearly 50 people liked the Goddess Wedding Gown over the other options.

11949289_955254321163464_3919893767982987402_n

Deciding the colors for a wedding is often the most difficult decision for a bride. Same rang true for readers, but this bouquet posted by Therese Scacchi Lopez persuaded several votes to blue and coral.

Voting on the colors and bouquet was a lot tighter but blue and coral won out.

Navy uniform

Tracy Kreeger suggested the groomsmen wear their Naval uniforms and the majority of voters agreed.

Hands down, Naval uniforms beat out tuxedos…but who doesn’t love a man in a uniform?

12002905_876793432402752_7996300632272939401_n

These beautiful Bridesmaid Dresses were suggested by Jamie Clark and most of the voters agreed.

Sixty percent of those who voted wanted the long blue strapless dresses that faded from dark blue to turquois, matching the colors of the Caribbean Sea.

There’s still time to vote on your choice of Wedding Cake as voting ends Sunday, 27 Sept.

diamond ring

What’s a wedding without a diamond ring? There’s still time to win this Diamond Ring!

Which means there’s still a chance you could win the Diamond Ring!! Or this week’s “Wedding Gift”.

Every week someone who voted was selected at Random.org to win a “Wedding Gift”. I’d like to congratulate: Alyssa Williams, Sara Miller, Judi Kensok, Alexia Janey Evans and Terry Galloway Trahan.

A huge congratulations!! goes to the following people who will be acknowledged in Captivated in Cancun for assisting with the wedding planning. Each suggested an element for the wedding which eventually won the popular vote.

Decision #1 Beach and Pool – Kenderly Woods & Annette Drolet Mardis

Decision #2 Wedding Dress – Anna Martin Josey and Therese Scacchi Lopez

Decision #3 Flowers and Colors – Therese Scacchi Lopez

Decision #4 Tuxedos/Uniforms – Tracy Kreeger

Decision #5 Bridesmaid Dress – Jamie Clark

Decision #6 Cake – ???TBD this week!

I think this will be a beautiful wedding.

Tell me one thing about YOUR wedding…your dress, bouquet, colors, etc. OR something that happened at the wedding like a funny toast, story, disastrous event.

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in KaLyn Cooper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Making Wedding Plans

  1. Alyssa Williams says:

    We had a backyard wedding. It wasn’t exactly as I wanted but it worked out in the end. I originally wanted to wear a sundress but my mother took matters into her own hands because the guys were wearing tuxes. My colors were red and white. I catered my own wedding. A lady at my church made the cake, but I didn’t even like it 😒 There was a crazy storm that day and our honeymoon was at a hotel in the same city we live in and no it wasn’t fancy. It wasn’t my dream wedding, but at the time it was the end result that mattered. That marriage lasted 4 and a half years. That wedding was a disaster looking back now, but then I didn’t care.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbi Davis says:

    We were having our wedding at a small Baptist church in my husbands home town. I was getting my dress on. People were waiting to come in etc. THE MINISTER DID NOT SHOW UP!!! Then my husband said we will just get married another day. I said oh hell no!! We get married today. Or we aren’t getting married. We were married by a Justice of the Peace. In my mother in laws family room. I was only 17. And I believed it was a bad omen if we didn’t marry that day…grins

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer Daniels says:

    I’m from Upstate NY. We got married in December and instead of snow it rained. Everything was in emerald green and gold. I also had a emerald green cape made for me. And I made all my bouquets and decorations. It was a beautiful perfect day! In December it will be 16 years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KaLynCooper says:

      Great minds think alike with the capes. It started snowing on Thursday and never let up with our wedding. We couldn’t make it to the hotel 10 miles away so we stayed in the house we’d rented for all our out-of-town guests (and there were a LOT). We had to leave for Annapolis the next morning because Macho Marine had to work on Monday. That’s another story. 🙂

      Like

  4. We were having an at home wedding and all day long I called my to be husband to see if he had the marriage license. I couldn’t reach him. He shows up for the wedding and had forgotten to get the license. The man performing the ceremony said no way and left. We had a party anyway. This was Dec 6. We heard a noise outside and everyone went out on the porch to see Santa in his motorized sleigh. He stopped and came in to our party and we took pictures. Santa had me sit on his lap and he was drunk. Wow. If it was odd it happened on the night we were supposed to get married.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tena barnes says:

    I had my wedding in a cemetery at my mother tombstone. My husband told my mother he would marry me before she died. My mom died in 1992 and we got married in 1994. We were together for 10 yrs and had 2 kids before we married. He said he promised my mom and this is where he wanted to get married. The preacher said this was a first for him and we was on the front page of our hometown newspaper

    Liked by 1 person

  6. snoopyvet says:

    We got married at the courthouse and the judge who married us was great. She made the ceremony special and didn’t just read it. It was a special day

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Deb Diem says:

    We were late for our wedding. The brainiac’s van broke down, instead of calling for someone to pick him up and fixing it later, he crawled under it and worked on it. No wonder we’re divorced. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Therese lopez says:

    I got married in January now since I live in Texas it was no big deal but at the reception my husband and mom danced to Friends in Low Places by Garth Brooks, it was great we had so much fun. After my reception we decided to go country western dancing since we had so much fun so the whole bridal party changed clothes and went dancing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. alexiajanie says:

    I was supposed to be married in June 2004 but my father in law passed away unexpectedly in February. We postponed the wedding till October, and since it was for family those who could make it did. My husband had a hard time dealing with the death of his Dad. I had 45 people at my wedding. I bought a cake from the local grocer, and they gave me the tiers and ivy to decorate it. My Mom and I cooked for a week preparing Greek food for the reception. It was very small, but beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. KaLynCooper says:

    I’ll start by telling you that Macho Marine and I got married in a military wedding with all the groomsmen in uniforms in December in Upstate NY. My bridesmaids wore ice blue satin gowns, full length hooded navy blue capes and carried white muffs rather than bouquets. I had an extra cape made for me and wore it every year to the Marine Corps Ball except when we were stationed in Japan.

    Like

Comments are closed.