Writing Romantic Suspense Can Be a Killer

whale shark and diver

Not really as frightening as you may think but a Whale Shark scared Lilly Girard nearly to death

Captivated in Cancun, my work in progress, is occupying most of my thoughts these days. I’m trying to get it out yet this fall, but that deadline is fast approaching.

whale shark ride along

Whale Sharks are actually playful and often allow divers to hitchhike a ride, especially when they are young like this one

I love talking with other authors who are much more experienced in this rather new career of mine. They are filled with advice, plot twists as well as directing me through the basics.

Coral-Reef1-1024x666

The coral reefs in the Cancun area are beautiful but the world underwater is too frightening for Lilly Girard now

One such conversation I had recently with the AWESOME suspense author, NYTimes Bestseller Bob Mayer, has made me step back and look at all the sub-plot lines I have going in this book. The good news is…there is a lot of action on the romance scene as well as in the suspense.

The better news is I know how it all ends. The bad guys die and the hero and heroine get together for a Happily Ever After.      Hey, it’s Romantic Suspense!

cruise ships in Cozumel

Josh “Madman” Madden, a director at Homeland Security, has reliable intel that a terrorist cell is going to be smuggled onto a cruise ship heading to the USA

My problem at the moment is braiding it all together and tying my characters into knots along the way.

Depressed-Boy-800

But terrorists aren’t the only people these coyotes smuggle

Throughout this blog I’ve given you a few pictorial clues about Captivated in Cancun. So what do you think so far? Leave me a COMMENT below.

29_wedding-rings-wallpaper1

JOIN the fun on my Facebook event page Planning of Jack & Jillian’s Wedding “Wedding Gifts” given away every week

If you’d like to BE IN MY NEXT BOOK,  Captivated in Cancun, come JOIN the fun on my Facebook event page Planning of Jack & Jillian’s Wedding. Click on the image.

You could win one of the weekly “Wedding Gifts” or even the Grand Gift of Diamond Ring!

Receive an EXTRA entry when you COMMENT below.  🙂

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in KaLyn Cooper. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Writing Romantic Suspense Can Be a Killer

  1. Barbi Davis says:

    I think it is turning out beautiful. I love the beach setting. The poolside reception. I don’t like sand in my food either. The dress is so gorgeous. I love the bridesmaid dresses. And am glad my vote for the long strapless won. Just everything is turning out PERFECT!! Way to go. I haven’t been able to be constant. But have really enjoyed this adventure. Great idea sweetie…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Therese lopez says:

    I can’t wait to read your new book!! The coral reefs are so beautiful and are a true wonder to behold. I love the whale shark it’s a true gentle giant.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Candice Sheets says:

    I loved reading your novel. I must catch up on all the Cancun romance!
    The Whale Shark is my favorite fish in the sea!!!
    Keep up the work! Your characters are awesome! Love strong women…and men. Emotionally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KaLynCooper says:

      Glad you liked the book! I think whale sharks are cool and would LOVE to swim with one someday, but they aren’t in Cancun when we go there every Christmas. 😦

      Glad you like my strong women. Wait till my new Black Swan series comes out.Five kick ass female assassins. They are successful at everything except love.

      Like

  4. vvaught512 says:

    Awesome post, KaLyn!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sara Miller says:

    This is going to be amaZing! I have total faith in you getting all the plot lines together, your books always keep everything fast paced and exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is going to be awesome! I know you’ll get all the plot lines weaved in you always do! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. snoopyvet says:

    Can’t wait to read this

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.