Sightseeing in New York City…Suggestions Please

RWA 2015

Romance Writers of America National Convention

I am headed to New York City for the Romance Writers of America annual conference next week, but we are going early so we can play tourist.

Got any suggestions and insider tips?

new_york_state map

Look for the most Southwestern corner of the state near Lake Erie and that’s where I grew up. About as far from New York City as you could possibly get; geographically, economically, socially … and any other “-ly” you can imagine.

Although I grew up in the State of New York, I couldn’t have been further away from New York City and still have been a resident. Trust me, there is a LOT more to New York State than crowded streets, sky scrapers, and traffic. I could see Canada across Lake Erie every time we went to the closest grocery store which was in Erie, Pennsylvania.

In the very small town where I spent the first eighteen years of my life, there were more milk cows on the corporate farm a mile down the dirt road than registered voters. Back then it took ten hours to reach the outer limits of The Big Apple and my family never traveled there. We always vacationed West (I’m talking Wyoming) or South to Florida.

large shot NYC

New York Cityscape

So I consider this my first trip to New York City.

Help me out here, please.

What should I see?

Where should I go?

Got any insider’s tips?

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in KaLyn Cooper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.