Swag-gurrrr Giveaway

2015-05-20 13.55.51

Swag, swag everywhere! ARGH!

My office is filled with swag!…and it’s driving me nuts.

I assure you, I am NOT a neat freak. Notice there are no pictures of my actual desk.

But I have limits.

2015-05-20 13.55.34I am in between conferences so I have bags and bags of goodies that will promote my books at the next conference. In three weeks I will be attending the Lori Foster Reader-Author Get Together outside Cincinnati, Ohio. It’s my fourth year at this con so I am excited about seeing many of the “regulars”, both my author friends and those readers who make the trek every year.

ragt-signing-2015Since RAGT15 is primarily a reader conference with only 100 authors and 400 readers—which sells out within minutes by the way—I need LOTS of swag. I’ll be in the Liquid Silver Boardroom for most of the three-day conference playing Sweet Twisted BINGO, giving a workshop on Social Media, and helping the other LSB authors with their allotted time slot.

I have items to create prizes for the winners of BINGO, like old-fashioned Coke glasses filled with Mentos. Get it? Coke and Mentos is an Explosive Combination…my first book. Do you have any idea how much space those glasses take up?

palm tree Charms-Silver-PlatedFinished-Silver---p2083fxb

I will be giving out the Palm Tree charm for my Cancun series

On top of that, I am partaking in the Charming Authors where each LSB author will be giving away charms to 200 lucky readers. Once their charm bracelets are completed, they can enter to win a Kindle Fire, beautiful jewelry, books, and swag. Luckily, thanks to the wonderful Wendi Zwaduk, I don’t have to store the charms here, but I do have the bookmarks with the instructions.

Then there’s the Brag Book of Awesome Authors where 100 readers will collect cards from the fourteen participating authors, then enter to win prizes. Not only do I have the books themselves, but I also have the cards that go into the front and back covers. Some assembly required.

As with most conferences, authors make baskets to be raffled off, the money going to charity. I have committed to two for the main conference and several for the LSB Boardroom. One will contain Coke and Mentos and the other will promote my Cancun series with Margarita glasses, flip flops, beach ball, and beach related items. Did I mention the wine? Yes, there will also be some of my family’s wine.

I have learned that assembled baskets do not travel well, so I will take the larger baskets with elements separate and put them together on site. But the smaller ones, I’ll complete and pack them in a box.

Last, but certainly not least, I have to take books. I will be selling and signing books on Saturday from 3:00-5:00.

But none of that is for three weeks. Until then, all that swag fills the space beside my desk overflowing into the seating area in my office.

Maybe if I just don’t look in that direction, I won’t see it.

Speaking of swag –  COMMENT below and you are entered to some of my swag. 

Authors: What do you give away as swag?

Readers: What do you like to get as swag?

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in KaLyn Cooper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Swag-gurrrr Giveaway

  1. dari says:

    I like when authors buy other items buy other items to give away with their books, it makes it really fun. eg necklaces, bracelets, gift cards (even $10), etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daniel Scott says:

    My favorite swag is toys that I can donate to a local organization that adopts families for the holidays. I volunteer with Santa’s Helpers and we fill stockings along with giving gift to all family members. In addition to toys, I like to receive thumb drives and stuff for my dogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jessica Iskey says:

    I love swag!! I love bookmarks, keychains, post it notes, gift cards, small posters, small notebooks and pens. Of course these things would have the author’s name and books on them! I received a pen from an author that had a light on top, the cooler the pen the better!! I also won a bracelet with a line from their newest books on it. I love it!!Something I haven’t gotten are stickers or nameplates.
    I don’t suggest t-shirts because some people are small & some are xx-large.

    One of the biggest things people love to win are signed paperbacks!!!

    Thank You!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Heather M says:

    I can’t wait for #ragt15. Coke and Mentos sounds like an awesome prize. I got a touch screen wipe and a pen that could be used as a regular pen and on a touch screen. Those were my favorite things from last year.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Therese lopez says:

    I like any kind of swag from an author, bookmarks, pens, post-it-notes, t-shirts, books, key chains. They are all great I think that if the author took the time to put the swag bag together it’s a great gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. julie says:

    I love swag. I like pens, book thongs. Flat covers

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lisa Wanzer says:

    My son and his friends did the mentos and coke. Thank god they did it outside!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • KaLynCooper says:

      LOL! Initially, I wanted to give away fireworks. They are legal in Tennessee. BIG ones! But Macho Marine brought up the point that may fly into a conference and they wouldn’t be allowed to take them home. So I decided the Coke and Mentos. Being the engineer that he is, he had to experiment with it. In case you are wondering, the 2-litre bottle of Diet Coke and 12 Mentos works best. I should have videoed it and put it on YouTube.

      Like

  8. lori johnson says:

    Lol…my oldest nephew loves the coke and mentos. He just found out the hard way not to do it in the house. Thank you for the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Deb Diem says:

    I didn’t get the mentos + coke at Nashville until my daughter pointed it out. lol But that cold diet coke was perfect! Thanks KaLyn, see ya soon. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.