Spring in the Shadows of the Smokies

2015-03-24 10.45.16

Flowers of spring

2015-03-24 10.43.54

My Spring garden.

My daffodils are out. Yea!

My early spring garden is planted. Oh, yeah, look who’s on top of the season.

The grass is growing.

The last statement brings a variety of sentiments depending on your relationship with constantly cutting the green growth. I look forward to mowing because it’s mindless me time.

I mow nearly four acres which takes about four hours. That’s four hours of me time every week. And I love it. I am addicted to audio books so I plug in the earbuds to my iPod, hop on the zero-turn radius fifty-two inch deck riding lawn mower and get lost in a book.

In all honesty, audio books started me on the journey to become a romance author. As the mother of small children and owner of a large advertising agency, I put a portable cassette player in my car and listened to self-help books back in the eighties. Over time, I stepped up to CDs which were a Godsend while driving the four hours each way every weekend to join my family in Tennessee while I lived in Kentucky awaiting the sale of our house there.

Then we built our new house. By that, I mean Macho Marine, Favorite (and only) Son and I brought our house from studs in. While hanging insulation, laying tile and painting, I spent endless hours listening to more than 500 audio books that year. I got hooked on romance, more specifically, romantic suspense. Then I wrote a book, which I hope will get sold or published this summer.

ipod-books-300x200

I listen to 7-10 audio books every month

Last night I scanned Audible for new books since I have to mow today and discovered several new listings which makes sense. Audio books are the fastest growing segment of book publishing today. Amazon expects by the end of 2016, it will comprise 20 percent of book sales. ACX, a division of Amazon, produces over 1,000 titles every month.

As a reader, that means more choices. As an author, it’s a category of publishing that I must seriously consider.

How about you?

Readers – Do you listen to audio books? How often? What are you listening to now?

Authors – Have you turned any of your books into audio? If so, post a link.

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in KaLyn Cooper and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring in the Shadows of the Smokies

  1. Oh, I’m listening to HOW TO BACK THE PERFECT CHRISTMAS CAKE by Gina Henning, narrated by Hollie Jackson. It’s contemporary, not my usual fare, but very entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with Vikki. Audiobooks are great. Your spring garden is very nice. I mow a small patch of grass every couple of weeks. My rose bushes and rest of garden take more of my time. Yes, I’m plugged in when I work, whether in the house or out. Thanks for the blog thoughts, KaLyn.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vvaught512 says:

    I listen to an audio book every day. On my way to work and back, when cleaning my house, any chance I get. Love them!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.