How Do You Prefer Yours – Warm, Steamy or Sizzling?

Last weekend I attended a book signing at a tiny rural library which was amazingly well attended considering its location. But I didn’t sell a single book.

One of my friends sold several.

Why, I asked myself in after-action analysis? My conclusion is simple; it’s all in how you like it. Warm, Steamy or Sizzling? Contemporary or Historical or Futuristic? Suspense and Mystery? Paranormal Fantasy or Reality? Inspirational or Erotic? Young Adult or New Adult? The Romance genre offers a wide scope to readers.

As many of you know, I write Contemporary Romantic Suspense that’s Sizzling Hot, just shy of erotica. And that doesn’t appeal to everyone.

That fact was evident last Saturday. Of the eight authors present, we ran the gamut. Young Adult, Paranormal and barely warm won the selling prize.

I did have a good time meeting new readers, although they weren’t interested in my sub-genres, and I got to catch up with several local authors I hadn’t seen in months.

free-valentines-day-cards-online-5

Happy Valentine’s Day

I have another book signing this weekend after I give a presentation on the Romance of Writing at a local used book store. Who knows, maybe I’ll even sell a few books. Since it’s Valentine’s Day, maybe attendees will be in the mood for Steamy/Sizzling Contemporary Romantic Suspense.

Tell me, what are your favorite genres and how HOT do you like it? 

About KaLynCooper

​KaLyn Cooper’s romances blend fact and fiction with blazing heat and heart-pounding suspense. Twenty-two years as a military wife has shown KaLyn the world, and thirty years in PR taught her that fact can be stranger than fiction. She leaves it up to the reader to separate truth from imagination. She, her husband, and bird dog live in Eastern Tennessee on a micro-plantation filled with gardens, cattle, and quail. When she’s not writing, she’s at the shooting range or paddling on the river.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Do You Prefer Yours – Warm, Steamy or Sizzling?

Comments are closed.